Renewing Texas Drivers License

It is very important to Renew your Texas drivers license before its expiration because Texas will not grant you a grace period. In other words, your drivers license will not be valid after its expiration date! There are three different ways in which you can renew your license in Texas. You can show up in person to any Texas dmv office , you can process your renewal online, you can send everything via mail, or you can use our convenient and easy to use website.

We’ll supply you with all of the forms , rules, and steps. Please click below to get started with your texas license renewal

Renewal Of Texas Drivers License

The Texas drivers license renewal rules vary depending on your age.

Rules for Drivers over 79 years of age

You must go in person to a Texas DMV Office

Rules for Drivers over 18 years of age

You are able to renew your drivers license one year before its expiration.

You may renew your license using any of the following 4 methods:

Renew Online

Criteria to Renew Online

  1. Drivers license expiration date is within the next 12 months and cannot have expired over 2 years ago.
  2. Your last time that you renewed your license was in person at a Texas DMV office.
  3. You must be older than 18 and less than 79 years of age.
  4. Online renewal is only allowed for Class C and Class M driver licenses
  5. You must be physically and mentally fit to operate a vehicle.
  6. You cannot be currently suspended from driving and any tickets or fines must be paid.
  7. You must have a social security number in the DMV’s system and you must be a US Citizen

Renew by Telephone

Criteria to Renew via Telephone

  1. Drivers license expiration date is within the next 12 months and cannot have expired over 2 years ago.
  2. Your last time that you renewed your license was in person at a Texas DMV office.
  3. You must be older than 18 and less than 79 years of age.
  4. Online renewal is only allowed for Class C and Class M driver licenses
  5. You must be physically and mentally fit to operate a vehicle.
  6. You cannot be currently suspended from driving and any tickets or fines must be paid.
  7. You must have a social security number in the DMV’s system and you must be a US Citizen

Renew by Mail

Criteria to Renew via Mail

Renewal by mail is only available for drivers who have received their renewal notice via mail.

Renew In Person at a DMV Office

This is your only option if more than 2 years have passed since your license expired. You will have to reapply for a NEW Texas drivers license.

Documents that you must show to Renew at a Texas DMV Office

  • Proof of Identity
  • Lawful Presence
  • Social Security Number

Rules for Drivers under 18 years of age

DMV Office

Your only option is to walk into a texas dmv office to renew your learners permit, provisional license or identification card.

Criteria to Renew Your Permit in Person

  • You must show your Identification Documents. These are the following:
    • Proof of Identification
    • Lawful Presence Documents
    • Social Security Proof
  • You must take and pass the vision test
  • You must show proof that you are currently enrolled in high school or that you’ve graduated from high school or that you have your GED.

Rules for Drivers who are currently Out of State

You can simply request that an application with all the instructions be mailed to your location. You will need to send an email to 701@dps.texas.gov with the following information

  • Your Complete Name
  • Your Texas Drivers License Number
  • Your current mailing address