is a PRIVATELY OWNED website that is NOT owned or operated by any state government agency.

new connecticut drivers license - CT

Connecticut Drivers License Information

To get your drivers license in Connecticut, you need to apply for a regular Class D drivers license. You must have a Connecticut license within thirty (30) days of establishing residency. 

Connecticut Drivers License Requirements

18 years and under 

  • Learner's Permit 

    • A few of the requirements:
      • You must be either 16 or 17 years of age.
      • Parent or Legal Guardian permission.
      • Must have connecticut drivers ed.
      • Forty (40) hours of driving experience.
      • Must have an adult with you at all times.
      • For complete details and to get your Connecticut Learner's Permit, please SIGN IN HERE

18 years and over

  • Regular Class D License

    • For first time drivers, connecticut drivers ed is required
    • You do not need a Connecticut Learner's Permit to learn how to drive.


For complete details and to GET your Connecticut license, please SIGN IN HERE

Connecticut Drivers Ed

Visit our connecticut drivers ed page for more information on Connecticut driver education.

Tests Required

  • Vision Test

  • Knowledge Test

  • Road Test

Test requirements vary by age and depending on whether you've previously held a license in another state. 

For complete details and to GET your Connecticut license, please SIGN IN HERE


New Driver's License Class X

  • 6 Year License

    • $72.00 
  • 7 Year License

    • $84.00 

Learner's Permit

  • $19.00 

Testing Fee

  • $40.00 (Vision, Knowledge and Road Test)


For complete Fees SIGN IN HERE

Documents needed to get your Connecticut Drivers License

  • Proof of Identity (Primary Documents)

    • A few examples:
      • U.S. Birth Certificate (certified)
      • U.S. Passport or Passport Card 
      • For complete list of items SIGN IN HERE
  • Proof of Identity (Secondary Documents)

    • A few examples:
      • U.S. or Canadian Drivers License (must have photo)
      • Military ID
      • For complete list of items SIGN IN HERE
  • For Minors (Under 18)

  • Social Security Number

    • A few examples:
      •  Social Security Card
      • W-2
      • For complete list of items SIGN IN HERE
  • Proof of Connecticut Residency 

    • A few examples:
      • Connecticut Utility Bills (must not be older than ninety (90) days)
      • Rental or Lease contract (must not be older than ninety (90) days)
      • For complete list of items SIGN IN HERE
  • Non-US Citizens

    • A few examples:
      • Employment Authorization Card (EAC)
      • I-20 
      • For complete list of items SIGN IN HERE


Connecticut DMV Office

Go to your Connecticut DMV Office in order to take your required tests. You can use our locator to find the office that is closest to you.

Take the Connecticut Drivers License Test

At this point you need to make sure that you have prepared and studied all of the material for the written test. You can find the Connecticut Driver Test handbook here

Buy a Car and Get Auto Insurance

Auto insurance is required by law in most states. Click HERE to get started and we'll help you find the lowest rates in your state.

Take the Driving Test

Your last step is to show up to your local Connecticut DMV Office and take the driving test.


Other Driver License Topics in the State of Connecticut

  • New Driver's License
  • Renew Driver's License
  • Learner's Permit
  • Seguro Auto