is a PRIVATELY OWNED website that is NOT owned or operated by any state government agency.

connecticut drivers license renewal - CT

Renew your Connecticut Drivers license now and avoid going to the DMV. There are two different ways in which you can renew your license in Connecticut. You can show up in person to any Connecticut DMV office , or you can send the application via mail (must meet eligibility requirements), or you can use our site and download your checklist. We’ll supply you with all of the forms, rules, and steps.

Connecticut License Expiration Dates

The expiration date of your license will range between five and ½ (5 ½) years and as much as seven (7) years. Its expiration date will always fall on your birthday.

Renewal Notice

The DMV will send you a renewal notice to the address listed on your driving record file. That’s why it’s very important to always maintain a current address on file with the DMV. If you move and get a new address please make sure to follow the change of address instructions.

When To Renew

Try to renew your license on or before its expiration date. You may also prepare ahead of time, and apply for renewal 120 days or 4 months before it expires. If for some reason you fail to renew the license by its renewal date, try not to allow your Connecticut license to be expired for more than two (2) years. If you allow it to be expired for more than 2 years , you will have to retake and pass a driving test. Finally, remember that there will be a late fee of $25.00 if you fail to renew on time. This fee must be paid even if only one day has passed since it expired.

Renew Online

Connecticut does not allow online renewing of your drivers license. However, you can prepare ahead of time and download all the necessary forms and receive your checklist by signing up here.

Renew By Mail

This option is only available to a select number of drivers who fall into a specific category. For instance, you must be military personnel, or have a serious medical condition, or if you are temporarily out of state and are not able to visit a local Connecticut DMV office, or if you are currently in jail.

Renew When Out of State

As mentioned, renewing by mail is an option if you are currently out of the state or out of the country. This however, is only allowed when the DMV has a stored copy of your license photo. The DMV would not have your photo,  if you have not obtained or processed a renewal since the year 1994. In this case, you must visit a DMV office, because by law, you must have a photo on your driver’s license.

Steps to Renew by Mail (only for qualified drivers)

  1. Fill out the following form B-350
  2. You must send a check or money order before your expiration date or a $25 late fee will be applied. The check or money order should be written to Department of Motor Vehicles
  3. The following is the address where you must mail your form B-350
  4. Department of Motor Vehicles
    60 State Street
    Wethersfield, CT 06109
    Attention: Centralized Issuance Unit

Your renewed license will be delivered via mail.

Renew In Person at a DMV Office

You can also walk into any connecticut dmv office to renew your license. The cost to renew will be $66. If you are of age 65 or greater, you can renew your license every two (2) years. The cost for this 2 year license is $22.

Documents required to Renew In Person

  • You will need to bring the license that you currently possess.
  • Please fill out and bring the renewal form that was sent via mail

If you elect to renew via the new SelectCT ID Program, you will be issued what is called a “Verified Driver License”. You must show the following documents:

  • 1 Primary Identification Document
  • 1 Secondary Identification Document
  • 1 Document which proves your Legal Presence in the U.S.
  • 2 Documents which prove your Residency in Connecticut
  • 1 Document which proves your Social Security Number. This can be either your social security card or a W-2 form


Other Driver License Topics in the State of Connecticut

  • New Driver's License
  • Renew Driver's License
  • Learner's Permit
  • Seguro Auto