How to Get a Drivers License in Florida

Florida is home to a population of 19 million of which 16 million are licensed drivers. Getting a florida drivers license is easily attainable if you have the proper documents and requirements before going to the DMV. The minimum age to apply for a learners permit is 15 years of age. The requirements can be broken down into three categories. The first category would be if you have never previously held a driver’s license and this is your very first application. The second category is if you already have an existing drivers license from another state. And finally, if you are in the military and current have a florida drivers license or ID card.

There are several types or classes of drivers licenses in Florida. The first class is abbreviated CDL and stands for Commerical Drivers License. The second set of classes are Class E Driver Licenses which are non commercial. And finally you have the option of applying for a motorcycle license.

First Time Drivers License in Florida

The Florida department of drivers license expects you to bring all the document requirements for your first drivers license. In summary, these documents are the following. Two forms of identification, date of birth proof, residential address proof , and social security number proof. Additionally, you will have to pass a few tests. These include the substance abuse education course, hearing and eye tests, and finally the drivers license test (rules, signs and driving test).  Teenagers who are at least 15 years of age and are applying for a learner’s permit are required to bring a parental consent form. If you are under the age of 18 your application needs to be signed by your legal guardian or parent. Non US Citizens are required to show proof that they are legally allowed to reside in this country.

Florida Drivers with Existing Drivers License

The process is straightforward for drivers with a license from another state. Just visit the official florida drivers license website at GatherGoGet  to get started , and they will guide you step by step.

Florida Drivers that are in the Military

Please visit the official florida Military Service Members website to get started.

Florida License Suspension

Not everyone has the privilege to apply and obtain a florida drivers license. You must have a record that is free of active suspensions (in any US State), you cannot be a drug addict, you cannot be impaired by a mental or physical problem. And finally you must be above the age of 15.

Obtaining a license does not mean that it cannot be suspended or revoked. You must drive safely and obey all traffic laws. Your driver s license can easily be suspended for instance by not actively carrying auto insurance. Refusing to take a drug and alcohol test while driving is also grounds for a suspension. Furthermore, your license can be revoked if you are convicted of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. It can also be revoked if you are charged with three cases of reckless driving.