How To Get A New License In Florida

How to get a new license in florida is one of the most searched questions on our website. Florida is the 4th largest state in the U.S. just behind California, Texas and New York. New residents and teenagers learning how to drive for the first time can easily apply for their first new drivers license. Florida driver licenses are divided into two main categories. The first category is a non commercial drivers license which is also known as a Class E license. The second category is  a commercial driver license , which is also known as a CDL. In this article we will focus on helping you apply for a non commercial license.

Teenage drivers make up a significant number of the licensed drivers in Florida. For instance, in 2007 there were more than 800,000 drivers between the ages of 15 and 19. Out of those drivers, there were over 35,000 crashes. That’s why it's very important to follow the steps and make sure that you are prepared to get behind the wheel of your first car. If you are a teenage driver (18 years and under) the requirements for obtaining your first driver’s license are different than those of drivers over 18. At the very least, you must be at least 15 years old to apply for a Learners Permit. The learner permit is also known as a Learner’s Restricted license. This license is useful for anyone that wants to learn how to drive on public roads. After you’ve held your learners permit for at least 1 year, you can apply for an Intermediate License. The Intermediate license is only available for people who are 16 years of age and older. Finally, if you are 18 years or older, you can apply directly for the normal Class E drivers license.

Before you get your new license in florida you will have to complete a substance abuse education and traffic law course. There are many companies that offer driver education. Please refer to our florida drivers ed page for more information.

Before applying for your new florida drivers license, you will need to take and pass a few different tests. The first test is called the Road Rules test. The second test is called the Road Signs test. Lastly you will need to make sure that your vision and hearing meet the minimum requirements by passing the Vision and Hearing tests. Please note that Out of State new drivers in florida will be able to convert their existing licenses to a florida license without having to take the written or road tests.

The fee for a new florida drivers license is $48. Before showing up to the DMV Office please make sure that all your documents are in order because you will need to show proof of identity. The three required documents are as follows. The first one is Proof of Identity. The second document is Proof of Social Security Number. Finally you will need to show proof that you are a resident of the state of Florida by showing Proof of Residential Address. If you are not a citizen of the U.S. you will need to show proof of your U.S. legal status. This can be your resident card for instance.

To begin the process , please sign up at our site and we will show you step by step how to get your new license in florida. We will also provide and generate all of your forms and documents.