is a PRIVATELY OWNED website that is NOT owned or operated by any state government agency.

louisiana drivers license renewal - LA

Renew your Louisiana Drivers license. Prepare all your OMV info. There are two different manners in which you can renew your license in Louisiana. The following are your options: Online or in person at an OMV branch. Every driver has the option of showing up in person to any omv office. The option of renewing online is only valid if you meet all of the required conditions, which we will discuss below. Your other alternative is to use our site and download your checklist. We’ll supply you with all of the forms, rules, and steps. Please continue reading below to get started with your Louisiana license renewal.

Louisiana License Expiration Dates

The expiration date of your license expires on the date listed on your actual driver’s license. Your expiration date will always fall on your date of birth.

Renewal Notice

You should receive a computer created renewal invitation via mail which will allow you to process your Louisiana renewal online. This will renewal will be sent one hundred (100) days before the expiration of your drivers license.

When To Renew

It’s best if you renew your driver’s license on, or before its expiration date. You can also prepare ahead of time, and apply for renewal 180 days before its expiration date.

If you are unable to renew before it expires, try to not to wait longer than ten (10) days. Louisiana gives you a grace period of 10 days before your license is considered legally expired. If your license has been expired for over 10 days, you run the risk of receiving a traffic violation for driving with an inactive license. At renewal time, there will be a $15 penalty for driving past the grace period (there are no exceptions). You will also need to pass a vision test.

Renew Online

This is the quickest way in which to renew your license. In order to renew online in Louisiana, you must meet the following conditions:

  • You will need your renewal notice which was sent via mail.
  • You must not have renewed your previous license online, or by mail, or by phone.
  • You must have your current photo based drivers license.
  • You have not changed your address. It’s Louisiana law to have your current address on your license.
  • By law, there will be an additional cost for processing your renewal online.
  • You must have vehicle insurance.

If you meet all the above conditions, you can renew online HERE.

Renew by Mail

This option is also available to Louisiana drivers. As with the online renewal option, you must meet a certain number of conditions to be allowed to renew via mail. They are as follows:

  • You must be younger than seventy (70) years of age, one hundred (100) days before your license expiration.
  • You cannot be a non resident alien of the U.S.
  • Your current license cannot have expired over twelve (12) months ago.
  • Your current license cannot have been previously canceled.
  • You must possess your current license. It cannot be lost!
  • Your license cannot be currently suspended, or pending suspension, or flagged as “No Insurance”, or flagged as “Petition”, or contain a Pick-up flag.
  • You must not have renewed your previous license online, or by mail, or by phone.

  • You must not have had any changes to your physical well being.

  • You must not be a male (U.S. citizen or permanent resident alien) of age between fifteen (15) and twenty six (26), and with social security numbers with 0’s. (if your criteria indicates that you should be registered with Selective Service, and your Social Security Number is not on file with your driving record, you should visit an OMV office and give your social security number).
  • Finally, don’t forget to sign the application. It will be rejected if the signature is missing.

Renewal for Military Drivers

Active duty Armed Forces, Peace Corps drivers and dependents can take advantage of the following rule for their Louisiana license renewal. If you entered into active duty with an active license (it wasn’t suspended, revoked or expired), then your license will not expire for sixty (60) more days after you terminate active duty. However, it will be considered “expired” on the 61st day after discharge.

Renewal Steps for U.S. Military Drivers

  • When beginning active duty, you must have your current drivers license flagged as Military. This will prevent your license from being erased from the OMV’s system.
  • If you are not able to flag it before you leave Louisiana, you can send your request via a written statement.
  • The written request shall include the following: Louisiana home mailing address, out of state mailing address, full name, drivers license number, and a copy of your military ID (front and back).
  • If you began your military duties with an expired license, you must show your military ID and prove date of enlistment.
  • The following is the mailing address:
  • Office of Motor Vehicles
    Suite 200
    P.O. Box 64886
    Baton Rouge, LA 70896

Renewal for drivers who are temporarily Out of State

The only people who can renew when out of state via mail besides military drivers, are full time students.

Renewal for Out of State college students

If you are a resident of the state of Louisiana and you are currently enrolled (full time) in college outside of the state, you may apply for a renewal via mail. The following are the conditions that must be met:

  • Please complete and sign your out of state application. Click HERE to download.
  • You must show a copy of your active student ID
  • You must have an active license (it shouldn’t be suspended, revoked or cancelled).
  • Your license cannot be expired for over twelve (12) months.
  • You must not have renewed your previous license online, or by mail, or by phone.
  • Pay your required FEE. The cost to renew is $24.50 or $15.50 (for drivers over 70 years of age).
  • There will be an additional charge of $15 if your license has been expired for more than ten (10) days.
  • Mail your payment and application to:
  • Office of Motor Vehicles
    Attention: Reconstructed License
    P.O. Box 64886
    Baton Rouge, LA 70896
    Phone: 225-925-4195

Your license will be mailed. It should take between 7 and 10 days.

Renew In Person at a DMV Office

You can also walk into any OMV office to renew your license. The cost to renew will be $24.50 or $15.50 (for drivers over 70 years of age). Click here for the latest FEES. You will need to do the following to renew in person:

  1. Find a local omv office branch.
  2. Bring your current drivers license. If you lost your license, then you cannot renew it. Instead you must file for a duplicate license.
  3. Your vehicle must be insured because you will need to show proof of insurance.
  4. You must pass a vision screening test.
  5. If your license has been expired for more than ten (10) days you will be forced to pay the $15 penalty.
  6. Pay the required cost for your license. Payment must be Cash or Money Order.

Expired License

If your license has expired for more than ten (10) days, you can be given a ticket for driving with an expired license. If it has been expired for more than twelve (12) months, your only option for renewal is go in person to an OMV office.