is a PRIVATELY OWNED website that is NOT owned or operated by any state government agency.

new delaware drivers license - DE

Delaware Drivers License Information

To get your drivers license in  Delaware, you need to apply for a Class D license. You must have a Delaware license within 60 days of establishing residency.

Delaware Drivers License Requirements

18 years and under (Graduated Driver License - GDL)

  • Class D Operator's License

    • Must be at least 17 years old.
    • Must have had level one learne's permit (see below) for at least (12) months.
  • Level One Learner's Permit

    • You must be between the ages of 16 and 18.
    • Driver Education Course required.
    • Must have parental consent.

18 years and over

  • Class D Operator's License


For complete details and Restrictions and to GET your Delaware drivers license, please SIGN IN HERE

Delaware Drivers Ed

Visit our delaware drivers ed page for more information on Delaware driver education.

Tests Required

  • Vision Test

  • Knowledge Test

  • Road Test

Test requirements vary by age and depending on whether you've previously held a license in another state. 

For complete details and to GET your Delaware license, please SIGN IN HERE


New Driver's License (Class D)

  • $24.00

Provisional Drivers's License

  • $15.00

Instruction Permit

  • $12.00


For complete Fees SIGN IN HERE

Documents needed to get your Delaware Drivers License

  • Identification (Primary Documents)

    • A few examples:
      • Birth Record (Certified)
      • U.S. Passport (must be active)
      • For complete list of items SIGN IN HERE
  • Identification (Secondary Documents)

    • A few examples:
      • Primary Document (another one)
      • Drivers License (with photo)
  • For Minors (Under 18)

    • Parent or guardian signature on application
  • Social Security Number

  • For temporary U.S. residents

    • A few examples:


Delaware DMV Office

Go to your Delaware DMV Office in order to take your required tests. You can use our locator to find the office that is closest to you.

Take the Delaware Drivers License Test

At this point you need to make sure that you have prepared and studied all of the material for the written test. You can find the Delaware Driver Test handbook here

Buy a Car and Get Auto Insurance

Auto insurance is required by law in most states. Click HERE to get started and we'll help you find the lowest rates in your state.

Take the Driving Test

Your last step is to show up to your local Delaware DMV Office and take the driving test.


Other Driver License Topics in the State of Delaware

  • New Driver's License
  • Renew Driver's License
  • Seguro Auto