is a PRIVATELY OWNED website that is NOT owned or operated by any state government agency.

new kansas drivers license - KS

Kansas Drivers License Information

To get your drivers license in  Kansas, you need to apply for a Class C drivers license. 

Kansas Drivers License Requirements

18 years and under (Graduated Driver License)

  • Regular License Class C

    • You must be at least 17 years old.
    • If you are 17 years of age, you will need a 50 hour affidavit .
  • Less Restricted Driver's License

    • You must be 16 but younger than 17 years of age.
  • Restricted Driver's License

    • You must be 15 but younger than 16 years of age.
    • Must have parental consent.
    • Drivers Education required
    • Instruction Permit required
  • Instruction Permit

    • For 17 years of age and greater. 
  • Instruction Permit

    • For 14, 15 or 16 years of age. 
    • Must have parental consent if you are 14 or 15 years of age

18 years and over

  • Regular Class C Non-Restricted 

    • If you are 17 years of age, you will need a 50 hour affidavit .


For complete details and to GET your Kansas license, please SIGN IN HERE

Kansas Drivers Ed

Visit our kansas drivers ed page for more information on Kansas driver education.

Tests Required

  • Vision Exam

  • Written Exam(s)

  • Driving Exam

Test requirements vary by age and depending on whether you've previously held a license in another state. 

For complete details and to GET your Kansas license, please SIGN IN HERE


New Driver's License Under 21 years

  • Under 21 Years of Age (Valid until 21st Birthday)

    • $20.00

New Driver's License Over 21 years

  • 4 Year 

    • $12.00
  • 6 Year 

    • $18.00

Photo Fee

  • $8.00

Exam Fee

  • $3.00

For complete Fees SIGN IN HERE

Documents needed to get your Kansas Drivers License

  • Proof of Identity 

    • A few examples:
      • U.S. Birth Certificate (certified)
      • U.S. Passport (must be active)
      • For complete list of items SIGN IN HERE
  • For Minors (14 and 15 years of age)

    • Parent or guardian Approval 
  • Proof of Residency and Proof of Address

    • A few examples:
      • Lease or rental contracts
      • Utility Bills (must show a Kansas address)
      • For complete list of items SIGN IN HERE
  • For people not born in the U.S. or Non American citizens

    • Permanent resident card / I-551 Resident Alien (Must be active)
    • Foreign Passport (must have I-94 or "Processed for I-551" stamp)
    • For complete list of items SIGN IN HERE


Kansas DMV Office

Go to your Kansas DMV Office in order to take your required tests. You can use our locator to find the office that is closest to you.

Take the Kansas Drivers License Test

At this point you need to make sure that you have prepared and studied all of the material for the written test. You can find the Kansas Driver Test handbook here

Buy a Car and Get Auto Insurance

Auto insurance is required by law in most states. Click HERE to get started and we'll help you find the lowest rates in your state.

Take the Driving Test

Your last step is to show up to your local Kansas DMV Office and take the driving test.


Other Driver License Topics in the State of Kansas

  • New Driver's License
  • Renew Driver's License
  • Learner's Permit