is a PRIVATELY OWNED website that is NOT owned or operated by any state government agency.

new new hampshire drivers license - NH

New Hampshire Drivers License Information

To get your drivers license in New Hampshire, you need to apply for a Class D (operator) drivers license. You must have a New Hampshire license within sixty (60) days of establishing residency. You must give up any other Drivers License that you have previously held from any other State. This is called the One License Concept. You must carry your license at all times. 

New Hampshire Drivers License Requirements

18 years and under 

18 years and over

  • Class D drivers license


For complete details and Restrictions and to GET your New Hampshire drivers license, please SIGN IN HERE

New Hampshire Drivers Ed

Visit our new hampshire drivers ed page for more information on New Hampshire driver education.

Tests Required

  • Vision Test

  • Knowledge Test

  • Road Test

Test requirements vary by age and depending on whether you've previously held a license in another state. 

For complete details and to GET your New Hampshire license, please SIGN IN HERE


New Driver's License 

  • $50.00

Fees depend on your age that you received your drivers license. For complete Fees SIGN IN HERE

Documents needed to get your New Hampshire Drivers License

  • Proof of Identity (Primary Documents)

    • A few examples:
      • U.S. Birth Certificate (Certified or original)
      • U.S. Passport (must be active)
      • For complete list of items SIGN IN HERE
  • Proof of Identity (Secondary Documents)

    • State Drivers License (with photo and not expired for more than 1 year)
    • Student I.D. card (with photo)
    • For complete list of items SIGN IN HERE
  • Proof of Residency

    • Certificate of Title (must be valid)
    • Utility Bill
    • For complete list of items SIGN IN HERE
  • For Minors (Under 18)


New Hampshire DMV Office

Go to your New Hampshire DMV Office in order to take your required tests. You can use our locator to find the office that is closest to you.

Take the New Hampshire Drivers License Test

At this point you need to make sure that you have prepared and studied all of the material for the written test. You can find the New Hampshire Driver Test handbook here

Buy a Car and Get Auto Insurance

Auto insurance is required by law in most states. Click HERE to get started and we'll help you find the lowest rates in your state.

Take the Driving Test

Your last step is to show up to your local New Hampshire DMV Office and take the driving test.