is a PRIVATELY OWNED website that is NOT owned or operated by any state government agency.

new utah drivers license - UT

Utah Drivers License Information

To get your drivers license in  Utah, you need to apply for a Class D (Operator) license. You must have a Utah license immediately upon establishing residency. There is NO grace period.

Utah Drivers License Requirements

18 years and under

  • Class D

    • You must be at least 16 years old.
    • Must have adult signature.
    • Must have Drivers Education course OR out of State License
  • Learner Permit (Class D)

    • You must be at least 15 year old.
    • Must hold permit for at least 6 months if under 18
    • Must have proof of School enrollment.
    • Must have adult signature.

18 years and over

  • Normal Class D License


For complete details and Restrictions and to GET your Utah drivers license, please SIGN IN HERE

Utah Drivers Ed

Visit our utah drivers ed page for more information on Utah driver education.

Tests Required

  • Eye Test

  • Knowledge (Written) Test

  • Road Test

Test requirements vary by age and depending on whether you've previously held a license in another state. 

For complete details and to GET your Utah license, please SIGN IN HERE


New Driver's License

  • Over 21

    • $25.00

  • Under 21

    • $30.00

Learner Permit

  • $15.00


For complete Fees SIGN IN HERE

Documents needed to get your Utah Drivers License

  • Proof of Identity and Lawful Status

    • A few examples:
      • U.S. Passport (must be active)
      • Birth Certificate (Certified copy)
      • For complete list of items SIGN IN HERE
  • Proof of Utah Residency

    • A few examples:
      • Bank Statement.
      • Mortgage or rental contracts.
      • For complete list of items SIGN IN HERE
  • For Minors (Under 18)

    • Must have adult signature.
  • Social Security Verification

    • A few examples:
      • Social Security Card.
      • W-2 form.
      • For complete list of items SIGN IN HERE


Utah DMV Office

Go to your Utah DMV Office in order to take your required tests. You can use our locator to find the office that is closest to you.

Take the Utah Drivers License Test

At this point you need to make sure that you have prepared and studied all of the material for the written test. You can find the Utah Driver Test handbook here

Buy a Car and Get Auto Insurance

Auto insurance is required by law in most states. Click HERE to get started and we'll help you find the lowest rates in your state.

Take the Driving Test

Your last step is to show up to your local Utah DMV Office and take the driving test.


Other Driver License Topics in the State of Utah

  • New Driver's License
  • Renew Driver's License
  • Learner's Permit