ohio drivers license renewal - OH
Get Cheaper Insurance Rates - Just 1 Quick Step
Enter Your Zip Code:
Renew your Ohio Drivers license. Prepare all your BMV info. Get all the forms, rules and steps required for your OH drivers license renewal. You must go In Person to your closest license agency. If you are currently serving the U.S. military you may order an out of state renewal packet. Your other alternative is to use our site and download your checklist. We’ll supply you with all of the necessary forms, rules, and steps in order for you to be fully prepared for your license agency visit. Please continue reading below to get started with your Ohio license renewal.
Ohio Drivers License Renewal Information
Your license will expire on the date listed on your driver’s license card. If you were over twenty one (21) years of age when your Class D license was issued, it will be valid for four (4) years. However, if you were between the ages of sixteen (16) and twenty one (21) your expiration date will fall on your twenty first (21st) birthday. Your expiration date will always fall on your birthday. Please be sure to carry your license at all times while driving. It is illegal to drive without your license.
The Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles will only send you a renewal notice (to the address on file), if more than forty five (45) days have passed with your license expired. You do not need this notice in order to process a renewal and please note that it is always your responsibility to renew on time (even if you did not get a notice).
When To Renew
Making preparations to renew on time is always the best way to renew. The state of Ohio will allow you to renew before your expiration date. You have two options.
If you elect to renew between one (1) and ninety (90) days before your license expires, you will be issued a license that is valid for four years.
If you elect to renew ninety (90) days before your license expires, you will be issued a license that is valid for three years.
If you are younger than twenty one (21) your license will expire on your twenty first (21st) birthday and you may renew thirty (30) days or less from your 21st birthday.
Please remember that it is against the law to drive with an expired license.
Expired Ohio License
Do not let your license expire as you will be subject to additional requirements and you will be ticketed if discovered. Driving with an expired license is against the law as Ohio does not have a grace period. Furthermore, once your license has been expired for more than six (6) months, you must re-apply again as a new applicant and you must go through all tests.
If your license was suspended, do not drive. You must pay all reinstatement fees and you must show proof of auto insurance. Fines begin at $75.00 and go up to $475.00 depending on the nature of the suspension.
Renew Ohio Drivers License Online
Ohio does not allow renewing online.
Ohio Drivers License Renew by Mail
Renewal by mail is only valid for drivers who are currently in the military and their and dependents.
Ohio Drivers License Renewal for Military Drivers
If you are currently serving in the U.S. Military or Peace Corps, your license (and dependents) will be valid for an additional six (6) months following your return from active duty. The normal renewal licensing laws will not apply to you. Upon termination of active duty or return to Ohio please visit a license agency and apply for your renewal. No further tests will be required from you as long as you meet the following conditions:
Renewal Steps and Conditions for U.S. Military Drivers
You need show proof of a Leave and Earnings Statement (LES) from the military or naval forces.
Must show proof that you are mentally and physically capable of operating a motor vehicle. This is done via an honorable discharge certificate.
Your license must have been active (not expired or suspended) when you entered active duty.
You must file for renewal in person at a license agency no more than six (6) months after returning to Ohio. This is done via a DD214.
If returning to Ohio is not an option, you may take advantage of the renew by mail procedure. This is only valid for Class D Operator's licenses. If you wish to do this, you must do the following:
Request your out of state renew by mail package.
This can be done by visiting the BMV website Here. You will need to enter your Full Name, Email Address and the reason for your inquiry.
By calling the following number: (614) 752-7600 .
Renew Ohio Drivers License In Person
Any Ohio driver can perform their renewal by going in person.
Requirements to Renew In Person
Visit your nearest Ohio license agency office.
Bring your current expiring drivers license.
If you are not able to bring your current drivers license or if it has been expired over six (6) months, you will be subject to additional documents (see below). These include Proof of Name, Proof of Social Security, Proof of Lawful Status or U.S. Citizenship, and Proof of Ohio Residency. Photocopies are not allowed. Only original documents and certified copies will be permitted.
You must pass a Vision Screening Test. No other tests are necessary unless your license has been expired for more than six (6) months. If so, you will have to re-apply for a new license.
You must sign a sworn statement that you will drive a motor vehicle that is properly insured.
Your picture will be taken.
Make sure to have money in order to pay for the $25.75 FEE.
If you meet all of the above conditions, you will walk away with your new Ohio drivers license.
Ohio Drivers License Renewal Documents
Your current expiring drivers license is enough to satisfy the required renewal documents. If you have lost it or if more than six (6) months have lapsed since your expiration date, then you must produce all documents below:
A primary document which shows Proof of Name and Proof of Date Of Birth. An example of this could be your Military ID or birth certificate.
A secondary document. If your primary document does not show your social security number this document must show it. A gun permit or health insurance card are some examples of secondary ID.
A document which shows proof of Legal Presence. A birth certificate or immigration document is a good example.
You must always show Proof of Address. This must demonstrate that you live in an address within the state of Ohio. Your primary and secondary documents may serve to satisfy this requirement if they list your Ohio stress address. Note: P.O. Boxes not allowed. An example of this can be a bank statement, paycheck stub, or a credit card bill.
For an exact listing of the required documents please visit the BMV's Acceptable Identification Documents Page.
Financial responsibility must
be kept on all motor vehicles when driven in Ohio. This is the law. You must always be able to show your Proof Of Auto Insurance
whenever you are involved in an auto accident or if you receive a violation. Conviction of driving without insurance can result in suspension of your driving privileges and confiscation of your vehicle. Use our service to get a free comparison of car insurance in Ohio