is a PRIVATELY OWNED website that is NOT owned or operated by any state government agency.

Do I need my learner’s permit to take the driving test

The answer to this question could be yes or no depending on your age and the state in which you currently reside. Every state has different rules about who should have a learner’s permit or not. To answer the question precisely we would need to know what in what state the driver is applying for a new license. One thing that almost all states share in common is the fact that in order to learn how to drive in public roads, you will need to have a learners permit.

If you are under 18 years of age, you will need to apply for a learners permit before taking the driving test because in order to pass the test, you must know how to drive and have had some hands on experience behind the wheel. The only way to practice driving would be by holding a valid and active drivers  learners permit.

Let’s go over a few states

New York Drivers Permit

You must apply for a Learners Restricted permit to learn how to drive. You must be a minimum of 15 years old.

Florida Drivers Permit

15 years old is the age in which you can apply for a Learner License in Florida. On top of that you must pass the written test, eye test and hearing tests. And finally you need to complete a Traffic law and Substance Abuse Education course.

California Drivers Permit

You must be at least 15 and ½ years old and under 18 years. At this age you can apply for your provisional permit. You will need to pass the traffic law and vision test. In order to take the driving test you need to show proof of Financial Responsibility, which means that your car must be insured.