is a PRIVATELY OWNED website that is NOT owned or operated by any state government agency.

texas drivers license renewal - TX

Renew your Texas Drivers license. Prepare all your DPS info. There are four different manners in which you can renew your license in Texas. The following are your options: By mail, at a DPS branch, by Phone or Online. Every driver has the option of showing up in person to any driver license office. The option of renewing online, phone and mail is only valid if you meet all of the required conditions, which we will clearly describe below. Your other alternative is to use our site and download your checklist. We’ll supply you with all of the necessary forms, rules, and steps. Please continue reading below to get started with your Texas license renewal.

Texas Drivers License Renewal Information

Expiration Date

The expiration date of your license expires on the date listed on your actual driver’s license. If you are over eighteen (18) and renewing a Class C drivers license, your license is valid for six (6) years. Drivers younger than 18 who are renewing instruction permits will have their license expire on their next birthday plus an additional year. Your expiration date will always fall on your date of birth. Finally, please remember that you must carry your license on you, at all times while driving. It is illegal to drive without your license and you can be fined up to $200.

Renewal Notice

You will receive a renewal notice via mail six (6) weeks before the expiration of your drivers license. The DPS will mail the renewal notice to the address on file. Note: It is still your responsibility to renew even though you did not receive a notice.

When To Renew

It’s best if you renew your driver’s license on, or before its expiration date. If you would like to prepare ahead of time, and are over eighteen (18) years of age, Texas will allow you to renew your license one (1) year before it expires. Drivers with licenses expired for more than two (2) years will need to go in person to any driver license office. It is against the law to drive with an expired license.

Expired Texas License

If your license is currently expired, you can be given a ticket for driving with an expired license. Driving without a valid license is against the law. If it has been expired for more than two (2) years, your only option for renewal is go in person to a DPS branch. This is because you will be considered a new applicant and must go through the steps of re-applying for a new driver’s license.

Renew Texas Drivers License Online

This is the fastest way in which to renew your license. 

Requirements to Renew Online

  • You must be a U.S. Citizen.
  • You are older than eighteen (18) and younger than seventy nine (79) years of age.
  • You can only renew online if your last renewal was done in person at a driver license office.
  • The DPS must have your social security number on record.
  • You cannot renew online with a Class A, Class B or CDL (commercial) License.
  • You must not have a new medical condition which could affect your driving abilities.
  • Your license is not currently suspended or canceled. You do not have any outstanding tickets or warrants.
  • You are able to make the $25 payment FEE with a MasterCard, Visa, Discover Card or American Express.
  • Please have your current drivers license handy when renewing online.
  • You have the option to change your driver’s license address on the renewal notice.
  • You will need a printer.

If you meet all the above conditions, you can renew online YOU CAN RENEW ONLINE HERE. A printer is required to print your temporary drivers license which will be valid for sixty (60) days.

Note: If you have not received your renewed license in over 3 weeks, please use the Where’s My License or ID webpage to track it. You will be asked to enter your License number and Date of Birth. Alternatively, you can call 512-424-2600 (English) or 512-424-7181 (Spanish) Monday - Friday 7am to 6pm. 

Texas Drivers License Renew by Mail

This is a very convenient manner in which to renew your license. Note: CDL law states that Commercial Driver License of Class A, B and C cannot renew via mail and must show up in person. 

Requirements to Renew By Mail

  • You must have been mailed a renewal notice which gives you the option of renewing by mail. It will contain detailed instructions.
  • You must be younger than seventy nine (79) years of age. This is due to Katie’s Law.
  • You must write your Social Security Number.
  • You will be required to send a photocopy of your proof of auto insurance.
  • Send your renewal by mail along with payment (check or money order) for the COST of renewal. The fee is currently $25.00. Please make payment payable to TXDPS.

Out of State Renewal By Mail

If you are a resident of the state of Texas and are currently outside of the state, you may apply for your license via mail.


  1. You must download, complete and sign the Out of State RIS-50 and DL-43 Forms.
  2. Answer questions 1 through 11.
  3. Write down your home address.
  4. Write down your current out of state address.
  5. Proof of Social Security is required if the DPS does not have your number on file.
  6. Proof of Lawful Status is required for drivers who are not permanent residents or U.S. Citizens.
  7. Vision Exam required only if you’ve had any traffic tickets during the past four (4) years.
  8. You have the option of Registering to Vote.
  9. Send payment (Check or Money order) for the Cost to the following address:
    P O BOX 15999
    AUSTIN TX 78761-5999

Your license will be sent via mail no later than 45 days.

Note: If you have not received your renewed license in over 3 weeks, please use the Where’s My License or ID webpage to track it. You will be asked to enter your License number and Date of Birth. Alternatively, you can call 512-424-2600 (English) or 512-424-7181 (Spanish) Monday - Friday 7am to 6pm. 

Renew Texas Drivers By Phone

Requirements to Renew Online

  • The requirements are the same ones as the section titled Renew Online.
  • Please have a credit card handy to make the payment.
  • Please have your current driver’s license.
  • You will be required to give your Social Security Number.

When you are read, please call 1-866-DL RENEW (1-866-357-3639).

Renew Texas Drivers License In Person

This is your only option if more than 2 years have passed since your license expired.

Requirements to Renew In Person

  1. Find a local driver license office location.
  2. Drivers with licenses expired for more than two (2) years will need to re-apply for a new driver’s license.
  3. Be sure you to take the required Identity, Legal Presence and Social Security documents (read below).
  4. You must pass a Vision Exam.
  5. Pay the required FEE for your license renewal.
  6. Your photo will be taken.

You will be issued your newly renewed Texas drivers license.

Texas Drivers License Renewal Documents

When going in person to your nearest DPS office, please have the following documents with you.

Auto Insurance

Car insurance is a requirement by law in Texas. Please visit our auto insurance guide for a comparison of rates.