mississippi drivers license renewal - MS
Get Cheaper Insurance Rates - Just 1 Quick Step
Enter Your Zip Code:
Renew your Mississippi Drivers license. Prepare all your DMV info. Get all the forms, rules and steps required for your MS drivers license renewal. There are three different options in which to renew your license in Mississippi. They are the following: By Mail, at a Kiosk machine, or personally at a Driver's License Office. Every driver has the option of showing up in person to any driver license office. The option of renewing online is only valid if you meet all of the required conditions, which we will clearly describe below. Your other alternative is to use our site and download your checklist. We’ll supply you with all of the necessary forms, rules, and steps. Please continue reading below to get started with your Mississippi license renewal.
Mississippi Drivers License Renewal Information
All Mississippi Class R operator licenses are valid for a total of four (4) years. The expiration date of your license will fall on your birthday. Please remember that you must carry your license on you, at all times while driving.
The MS Department of Public Safety will not mail you a friendly renewal notice reminder. Note: It is always your responsibility to renew on time.
When To Renew
It’s best if you renew your driver’s license on time. You can conveniently have your licensed renewed either in person, or at a renewal Kiosk, or online. If you are over the age of eighteen (18) you may renew online up to six (6) months before your expiration date.
If your license is currently expired, do not drive. You will be ticketed for driving with an expired license. Driving without a valid license is against the law. If your license has been expired for more than one (1) year, you will be forced to pay a $1.00 late renewal fee, and you will not be allowed to renew online. A suspended license due to DUI or drug charges will be subject to pay a $75.00 fee in order to get your license reinstated. On top of the payment, you must go through the process of clearing your records with the courts.
Renew Mississippi Drivers License Online
This is an easy way in which to renew your license. If you are older than 18, you may use this feature up to six (6) months before your expiration date.
Requirements to Renew Online
This service is only available for class R licenses. You must not have any restrictions on your license.
Your current expiring drivers license must not be not currently be suspended or canceled or revoked. It must be not be expired for over one (1) year.
Your current address must be the same as the address which appears on your current drivers license. P.O. Boxes are not allowed. If it is not, you need to change the address on your license by going in person to your closest license office.
There will be small additional charge for using the online service.
You can only renew online if your last renewal was done in person at a driver license office.
Your photograph must be on file. If not, you will be required to go in person.
You cannot use the online system during the following days and times: Any day between 2am and 3am, never on Sundays, 4th of July, Thanksgiving, Christmas, or New Years Days.
You must be older than sixteen and a half (16 1/2) and younger than seventy five (75) years of age.
You are able to make the $21.00 payment FEE. On top of that there will be an additional online usage fee plus a $1.50 postage and handling charge.
You will need to enter your current drivers license number, full name and date of birth.
If you meet all the above conditions, you can RENEW ONLINE HERE. Your new license or sticker will be sent via mail and should arrive in no more than ten (10) business days.
Note: If you have not received your renewed license in over 2 weeks, please contact the Department of Public Safety Here. You will be asked to enter your License number and Name. Alternatively, you can call the following number: 601-987-1343 or 601-987-1385
Mississippi Drivers License Renew by Mail
Most drivers cannot renew their license by mail. You may ONLY use the renew by mail option if you are currently serving in the U.S. Military. Please read below.
Mississippi Drivers License Renewal for Military Drivers
If you are an active duty military drivers, the Mississippi DPS will allow you to renew by mail provided that you follow the directions below.
Renewal Steps for U.S. Military Drivers
Please prepare a photocopy of your current expiring drivers license OR of your Social Security Card.
A photocopy of page 1 of your Military Orders. It should show proof of where are you stationed.
Please have your commanding officer prepare a written letter indicating your full name, current status and your drivers license number.
Prepare a certified check for $21.00 written to Mississippi Department of Public Safety. If your license is past expiration date, total should be $22.00
Please send the above documents to the following address:
P.O. Box 958
Jackson, MS 39205
Renew Mississippi Drivers License at a Kiosk Machine
Avoid waiting in line and take advantage of the renew by Kiosk option. This convenient and safe technology is the first in the country.
It's very similar to using an ATM machine. Your first step is to swipe your current drivers license (which is expiring). You may also swipe a credit card to get started. From there you must follow the instructions. Lastly, your picture will be taken and you will be asked to submit payment for your renewal Fee.
Security is enhanced by the use of facial recognition. The machine will compare the current image of your face with the picture stored in your expiring drivers license. You will not be allowed to use the Kiosk if the images do not match.
If your renewal is successful, the machine will print out a temporary drivers license. Your real picture license will arrive in the mail in one (1) week.
There are twenty nine (29) of these machines available in Mississippi. You may see a list of them ordered by country Here.
Renew Mississippi Drivers License In Person
Every Mississippi driver has the right to go in person.
Please locate and visit your nearest driver license office.
Bring your expiring drivers license.
Bring money to pay for the $21.00 renewal Fee. Note: The ONLY forms of payment accepted are Check or Cash.
Your license will be issued after meeting all of the requirements above.
Mississippi Drivers License Renewal Documents
When going in person to your nearest DPS renewal office, please have the following documents with you.
Your current Mississippi expiring drivers license.
All applicants must bring two (2) proofs of Mississippi residency (address).
Non U.S. citizens must show legal proof of stay in the U.S. This includes passport, resident card (if applicable), birth certificate, I-94 and immigration documents.
Mississippi law states that all drivers must carry liability insurance. Please visit our auto insurance guide for a comparison of rates and to get the lowest quotes in your area.