is a PRIVATELY OWNED website that is NOT owned or operated by any state government agency.

nebraska drivers license name change - NE

Do you need to change the name on your license? Process your Nebraska Drivers license name change now and avoid spending time on the DMV site. You'll have to make sure that your requirements and documents are complete before submitting an official name change with the NE DMV. All requests for name changes or updates must be done in person at a nebraska dmv office. Our mission is to facilitate the process of researching the steps required to perform this change. Use our website to download your easy to follow guide.

Nebraska Drivers License Name Change Information

The law requires that you notify the Nebraska DMV no later than sixty (60) days after you legally change your name. The state of Nebraska also verifies your social security number before doing any change on it. Make sure that you notify to the Social Security Administration about the change too, and give to the SSA at least twenty four (24) hours to record your new name at the system and you have to request a new SS Card.

In Person


  1. You can do this change by visiting your local nebraska dmv office,
  2. Please submit an Application for Revision
  3. Be sure to have your Documents ready when you visit the office.

Cost for Nebraska Drivers License Name Change

You have to pay the amount of $13.50 for a replacement or duplicated Driver’s License (or Learner's Permit) with your name changed. Click on the Fees page to see a list of the latest prices.

Documents Required

Please the use following check list of documents and any other information that can be useful to change your driver’s license name.

  • Marriage Certificate
  • Divorce Decree
  • Court Order
  • Your driver’s license Number
  • Your Social Security Number 
  • If your proof of residential address has not been verified, you will need to submit two (2) documents that prove your current address.
    • P.O. Boxes are not accepted. 
    • You may show a credit card or utility bill, bank statement (must not be older than 90 days), Nebraska car registration, voter card, pay stub, government documents, home insurance, auto insurance, life insurance, mortgage papers or lease papers, etc..
    • See the following document for the complete list of allowed proof of address documents.

NOTE: Only originals documentation or certified copies are accepted.