is a PRIVATELY OWNED website that is NOT owned or operated by any state government agency.

new jersey drivers license renewal - NJ

Renew your New Jersey Drivers license. Prepare all your MVC info. Get all the forms, rules and steps required for your NJ drivers license renewal. Renewing In Person at any motor vehicle agency is the easiest manner in which to process your renewal because the MVC employees will guide you throughout the process. However, beginning November 2012 there will be one more way of getting your license renewed. This is by Mail. Before using this option, please read below and make sure that you meet the conditions for renewing by mail. Additionally, New Jersey drivers that are temporarily living away from the state, may request permission to apply by mail. Your last option is to sig up with our website in order to receive your renewal checklist. We’ll supply you with all of the required rules, forms, and procedures. Please continue reading below to get started with your New Jersey license renewal.

New Jersey Drivers License Renewal Information

Expiration Date

Basic Class D licenses in the Garden State expire every four (4) years, therefore you must apply for your renewal every 4 years. . If you are unsure of the exact date in which your license expires, simply double check your card and it will have the date on the front face.

Renewal Notice

All New Jersey drivers will be notified by mail of their upcoming renewal. Ninety (90) days before your expiration date you will be sent a renewal notice to your address on file You will need this renewal form when going in person to a motor vehicle agency office. Always keep the MVC informed of any address changes so that they may send any useful information or notices to your correct mailing address. Otherwise, you will not be reminded of your renewal date. In the event that you did not receive a renewal notice or form, you must go and pick one up at a motor vehicle agency. Remember, it is still your obligation to renew on time whether or not you received a notice via mail. 

When To Renew

The NJ MVC will allow you to prepare your renewal ahead of time. You may renew six (6) months before your license expires. Please take advantage of this and don't wait untill the last day. Specially if your license expiration falls at the end of the month. In order to avoid unnecessary delays, always try to visit the mvc agencies during the middle of the month or the middle of the week. At the end of the week or end of month is usually the busiest times. If you are unable to renew on time, your license will expire.  

Expired New Jersey License

It's against the law to drive a motor vehicle with an expired license. You face a possible fine of $150 for not being able to show an active driving license. On top of that, if more than three (3) years have gone by since your license expired, you will not be allowed to renew without retaking all tests. These include the eye test, written test, and driving test. 

If you violate the rules of traffic, you will be given points on your driving record. Depending on the severity of your violation, your license can even be suspended. If you receive more than 12 points you will receive a suspension notice via mail. On top of facing suspension and receiving points on your record, your insurance company will increase their rates. To shop for cheaper rates please use our online car insurance guide. In order to recover from a suspended license, you must serve the suspended time period and then pay a restoration fee of $100. 

Renew New Jersey Drivers License Online

New Jersey is not currently allowing online renewals. Your other two options are to go In Person or apply via Mail.

New Jersey Drivers License Renew by Mail

Beginning November 2012, the NJ MVC will start allowing drivers to renew their driver's licenses or ID's by mail through the "Skip the Trip" program. You'll want to make sure that you qualify for this program as not everyone will meet the requirements.

Requirements to Renew By Mail 

  • Your date of birth must be on or before 12/01/1964.  
  • Your driver's license must expire on November 2012 or later.
  • You cannot renew a commercial driver's license, or graduated driver's license by mail.
  • If your license is currently suspended, you may not renew.
  • If you are less than ten (10) days away from your expiration, please go In Person for your renewal, because you will run the risk of not receiving your license by mail in time.
  • Your drivers license has not expired for more than three (3) years. 


  1. Fill out and complete the Skip the Trip renewal form that was sent to your mailing address. You will need this form to apply by mail. If you did not receive it, your only alternative is to go In Person to an MVC agency. You may only use blue or black color ink to fill out the application.
  2. Please make sure to carefully read all the instructions in the renewal notice package.
  3. Prepare payment for the Cost of $24.00 (4 year drivers license) and mail the package to the address on your renewal notice form. Note: Only check or money orders are allowed.

Your existing picture will be used and your new license will arrive in about seven (7) to ten (10) business days.

If you have not received your license and its been over 2 weeks, please call the New Jersey MVC at (888) 486-3339 (Monday through Friday 8:30AM - 4:15PM) or use the following website to contact them.

Renew New Jersey Drivers License In Person

If you do not qualify for the mail in renewal program, or if you feel more comfortable renewing in person, you may visit any MVC agency office.

Requirements to Renew In Person

  • You will need to bring your renewal form which was sent via mail 90 days before your expiration. If not, you will need to fill one out at the agency office.
  • You must have a valid social security number.


  1. Make sure to bring money to pay the Fee of $24.00 for a 4 year license. Accepted forms of payment are credit cards, money orders, personal checks or cash.
  2. Prepare and bring your Proof of Identification documents (read below).
  3. Visit your nearest motor vehicle agency.
  4. You may be chosen to pass a Vision test. This is done on certain occasions.
  5. If your license has been expired for over 3 years, you must retake the vision, written and driving tests.
  6. Your picture will be taken.

You will be handed your new license which will be valid for four (4) years.

New Jersey Drivers License Renewal Documents

When renewing in person, you must bring your identity documents in order to pass what is known as the 6 Point ID Verification. Let's go over those documents below. 

List of Documents

  • Bring one document which satisfies Primary ID.
  • Bring one document which satisfies Secondary ID.
  • You must give your Social Security Number and it will be checked to make sure it matches the records. 
  • Bring your Proof of New Jersey Address document. 
  • For the complete detailed list, please download this handy PDF file, or visit this online site which will guide you in selecting your documents.

Auto Insurance

You should never drive an automobile in the state of New Jersey without the minimum basic auto insurance policy. Driving without insurance in New Jersey is against the law. If you are charged for not having auto insurance you will face penalties, fees, driving privilege being taken away (suspension), and you could even be placed in jail. If you do want to have full or standard coverage, NJ law states that you may drive with a reduced basic policy. To find out more and shop for the best prices, please use our free insurance guide.