alabama drivers license renewal - AL

Renew your Alabama Drivers license. Prepare all your DPS info. Get all the forms, rules and steps required for your AL drivers license renewal. Most drivers are required to go In Person to have their Alabama license renewed. Please find the location of your closest driver license office. If you are temporarily out of the state of Alabama (conditions discussed below), you will be allowed to process your renewal via Mail. Your last option is to use our site and download your checklist. We’ll supply you with all of the necessary forms, rules, and steps in order for you to be fully prepared for your licensing visit. Please continue reading below to get started with your Alabama license renewal.

Alabama Drivers License Renewal Information

Expiration Date

The face of your license card will always show your expiration date. Alabama Class D Operator licenses are valid for four (4) years from the date at which you received it. Your expiration date will always fall on your date of birth. When you are operating a motor vehicle you must always carry your license as it is against the law to drive without a license.

When To Renew

Always plan ahead and try to renew your license before it expires or the day of its expiration. The Alabama DPS does grant you the ability to process an early renewal. You may renew it up to sixty (60) days before the expiration date. Just visit your nearest driver license office. However, there is a grace period that will help you get your license renewed without having to go through any additional testing requirements. This grace period is granted for a total of sixty (60) days past the expiration. It should not be used for driving after expiration. It is against the law to drive with an expired license.

Expired Alabama License

In the event that you were unable to renew on time, you may still go in person to any license Commissioner Office in Alabama and process a renewal up to three (3) years after it has been expired. You will not be asked to retake any driving or written tests if done less than 3 years after expiration. Note: this does not allow you to drive while on an expired license.  You will be given a citation if detained by law enforcement. 

Offenses such as DUI's, repeated violation of traffic laws, repeated reckless driving, failing to stop for a police officer, failure to appear in court, and dropping out from high school can lead to a suspension of your license. You will receive a notice via mail if your driving privileges have been suspended.  Do not drive under a suspended license. In order to begin driving you must go through your suspension period and then pay a reinstatement fee. The fees start at  $75.00 and go up to $275.00, depending on the nature of suspension. 

Renew Alabama Drivers License Online

At this time there is not an option for renewing online in Alabama.

Alabama Drivers License Renew by Mail

You may take advantage of this option up to sixty (60) days before your license expires. However, renewal by Mail is only allowed if you fall into the categories listed below:

Requirements to Renew By Mail

  • You must currently be serving in the U.S. Military. Your dependents also fall into this category. 
  • You are currently enrolled in college outside the state of Alabama. 
  • Your are not in Alabama due to an out of state job.
  • You last renewed your license less than four (4) years ago. The reason for this is that the DPS will need your photo and signature to be on file.
  • If you are a Foreign National this option is not permitted.
  • Commercial Driver License may not renew with this option.

STEPS

  1. You must download and fill out the following 1 page Out of State License Renewal Form.
  2. You must include your Alabama home address and your current out of state address.
  3. Your Social Security Number must be entered.
  4. You will also need to write your current reason for being out of state (can be any of the ones discussed above).
  5. Drivers in the Military must send a copy of their Military ID and Orders.
  6. Drivers in School must send a copy of their Student ID and University/College enrollment papers.
  7. Drivers Working out of state must prepare a letter from employer on company letterhead 
  8. You have the option of Registering to Vote.
  9. Note: If you are a veteran, be sure to include your Certificate of Release form (DD-214) in order to get a license which designates you as a veteran. This law was introduced in May 01 2013.  
  10. Send the payment for $23.50 (Only Money orders allowed) written to Driver License Division for the Cost to the following address:
    Driver License Division
    P.O. BOX 1471
    Montgomery, Alabama 36102-1471
  11. Your license will be shipped to you via mail.

Note: If you have not received your renewed license, please contact the Alabama DPS at the following Contact Page. You will need to enter your Full Name, Email, License Number and Birth Date. You may also try calling them at the following number: Driver License: (334) 242-4400 (Menu Option).

Alabama Drivers License Renewal for Military Drivers

U.S. Military drivers and dependents are able to renew by mail provided that you show proof of your current Military ID and current Military Orders. Please follow the instructions listed above titled Alabama Drivers License Renew by Mail.

 Renew Alabama Drivers License In Person

This is the only option available to you in Alabama, unless you qualify for a renewal via mail. The cost to renew will be $23.50 for a regular 4 year operator’s license. 

Requirements to Renew In Person

  • Find a local driver license office location in order find out what hours they are open.
  • Bring your current expiring drivers license as it will serve as identification. 
  • If your current license has not been expired for more than three (3) years, no further examinations are required.
  • Provide proof of Social Security Number (read below). 
  • Your car must be properly insured.
  • Pay the required $23.50 cost for your license renewal (checks will not be accepted). See the latest FEES here.

You will be issued your newly renewed Alabama drivers license.

Alabama Drivers License Renewal Documents

When going in person to your nearest DPS office, you must show proof of Social Security documents. 

  • Proof of Social Security number. Examples of allowed documents are your social security card, Military ID, Military Form DD214, Medicare of Medicaid ID card, W2, or a letter from the SSA.gov which should include your name and social security number.
  • Drivers without a Social Security Number must contact the Social Security Administration and have them create a letter of ineligibility.
  • Note: If you are a veteran, be sure to include your Certificate of Release form (DD-214) in order to get a license which designates you as a veteran. This law was introduced in May 01 2013.  

Auto Insurance

Since June 2000, car insurance in Alabama has been a requirement by law. This law gives the Alabama DPS the ability to confirm whether your motor vehicle is sufficiently insured to meet the state's minimum requirements. You must always carry your proof of insurance in the event that law enforcement questions you. Not having auto insurance is punishable for up to $500 in fines. We can help you compare free auto insurance quotes HERE.