is a PRIVATELY OWNED website that is NOT owned or operated by any state government agency.

montana drivers license renewal - MT

Renew your Montana Drivers license. Prepare all your DMV info. Get all the forms, rules and steps required for your MT drivers license renewal. There are two different forms in which to renew your license in Montana. You can either complete the application by Mail, or show in Person at any exam office. Every driver has the option of showing up in person to any driver exam station. The option of renewing by mail is only valid if you meet all of the required conditions, which we will clearly describe below. Your other alternative is to use our site and download your checklist. We’ll supply you with all of the necessary forms, rules, and steps. Please continue reading below to get started with your Montana license renewal.

Montana Drivers License Renewal Information

Expiration Date

The expiration date of your Class D license (most drivers have this class) is clearly listed on the face of your actual driver’s license. Your expiration date is based upon the age at which you were issued the license. They are valid between 4 to 8 years. If you were:

  • Between the ages of fourteen (14) and twenty (20), your license will expire when you turn 21 years old. 
  • Between the ages of twenty one (21) and sixty seven (67), your license is valid for 8 years.
  • Between the ages of sixty (68) and seventy four (74), it will expire when you turn 75. 
  • Older than seventy five (75), it will expire every 4 years. 

Your expiration date will always fall on your date of birth. Finally, please remember that you must carry your license on you, at all times while driving. It is illegal to drive without your license and you can be ticketed.

Renewal Notice

The MT Motor Vehicle Division will mail you a friendly renewal notice reminder. However please remember that it is always your responsibility to renew on time, regardless of whether you have received the notice or not. 

When To Renew

It’s best if you renew your driver’s license on, or before its expiration date. If you would like to prepare ahead of time, Montana will allow you to renew your license six (6) months before its expiration. Drivers with licenses expired for more than three (3) months years will need to show up in person to a driver exam station. It is against the law to drive with an expired license.

Expired Montana License

If your license is currently expired, do not drive. It will not be valid past the expiration date. You will be given a citation for driving with an expired license. Driving without a valid license is against the law. If your license has been expired for less than three (3) months, you may renew it without having to face additional requirements. However, if its been expired for over three (3) months, you will not be allowed to renew it, but instead will be considered a new applicant. You will be forced to pay a $1.00 late renewal fee, and you will not be allowed to renew online.

A suspended license will be subject to pay the the license reinstatement fee and go through the process of license restoration. The process includes showing proof that you have been financial responsible, and going through treatment programs.

Renew Montana Drivers License Online

Currently, renewing online is not allowed. 

Montana Drivers License Renew by Mail

This option is not available for everyone. You must meet the criteria below:

Requirements to Renew By Mail

  • You must have residency in the state of Montana but are currently temporarily outside of the state's boundaries.
    You live in a county that does not offer the services available to renew in person. If you live in any of these counties you may  renew by mail every other renewal period: Carter, Garfield, Golden Valley, Jefferson, Judith Basin, Madison, Petroleum, Prairie, Treasure and Wibaux. 
  • Please remember that cannot renew license via mail consecutively. 

Out of State Renewal By Mail

When renewing by mail, please follow these steps:


  1. You must download, complete and sign three different applications.
  2. If you've been married or changed your name, you need to perform a change of name update.
  3. The application will ask for your Social Security Number. 
  4. Send payment for the Cost of $40.50 for your eight (8) year license. Payment can only be made in 2 different forms. Money Orders or by prepaying at a driver exam station or County Treasurer Office. You must send a photocopy of the receipt. Please send the renewal packet , with a self addressed envelope to the following address:

    Motor Vehicle Division
    Montana Department of Justice
    303 N. Roberts
    P.O. Box 201430
    Helena, MT 59620-1430

Your license will be sent via mail and will arrive between two (2) to four (4) weeks.

Note: If you have not received your renewed license in over 4 weeks, please visit this Contact Page to contact your nearest MVD office. 

Montana Drivers License Renewal for Military Drivers

Drivers who are currently in active duty with the U.S. Armed forces can take advantage of certain renewal privileges in the state of Montana. As long as your drivers license was valid when you entered the military, it will not expire (as long as you are actively serving). Upon termination you will have a total of thirty (30) days to apply for a renewal. During your service with the military, you do not have any restrictions on when to renew. You have the right to visit any driver exam station and have your license renewed. 

Renewal Steps for U.S. Military Drivers

  • Apply for your military exemption so that your license remains valid while on active duty. 
  • In order to get the exemption you have two (2) options:
    1. Contact the Montana MVD by calling (866) 450-8034 or emailing

    2. You may fill out the Request for Military Renewal of Montana Driver License form. You must include the following alongside the form:
      • A copy of your military ID.
      • A copy of your military orders.
      • A copy or your Leave and Earnings Statement (LES).
      • You will be asked to enter your name, birth date, drivers license number, out-of-state and Montana address, social security number, phone number, and date of entry and discharge.
        Complete the application and mail all of the requirements to the following address:

        Motor Vehicle Division 
        ATTN: Records
        PO BOX 201430 
        Helena, MT  59620-1430

Note: Upon discharge you will only have thirty (30) days to apply for a renewal or you will be subject to additional tests. Please bring your DD-214 (honorable discharge) papers.

Renew Montana Drivers License In Person

This is your only option if more than three (3) months have passed since your license expired OR if you last renewed by mail. All other drivers are always welcome to renew in person.

Requirements to Renew In Person

  1. Find a local driver exam station location.
  2. Drivers with licenses expired for more than three (3) months will be considered new applicants and will need to re-apply for a new driver’s license. This includes retaking all tests (driving, vision and written tests). 
  3. Bring your current drivers license as it will server as Proof of identification. If you have lost it then you will need to furnish documents from the Proof Of Identity list (read below).
  4. You will be asked for your Social Security Number.
  5. You must pass a Vision Test.
  6. Bring money (only check or cash allowed) pay the required $40.50 FEE for your Class D license renewal.
  7. Your picture will be taken.
  8. If you are disabled you may be asked to pass the Road and Written tests.

You new license will be sent via mail and will arrive between two (2) to four (4) weeks. However, you will walk away with a temporary license. 

Montana Drivers License Renewal Documents

If you do not have your expiring drivers license, you will need to show the documents from the following list:

If your license has expired for a period greater than three (3) months, you need to show the same documents as new applicants. 

Auto Insurance

It is Montana law for all drivers of motor vehicles to have the proper state minimum amounts for liability car insurance. The only exception are motorcycles which do not need insurance. If you are ever questioned for your proof of insurance (by a police officer), you must show your documents. If your vehicle is not insured you risk being either fined, incarcerated, and points levied on your driver license. In order to get a free insurance quote please use our auto insurance service for Montana drivers.