is a PRIVATELY OWNED website that is NOT owned or operated by any state government agency.

new california drivers license - CA

California Drivers License Information

To get your drivers license in California, you need to apply for a Class C or noncommerical drivers license.

California Drivers License Requirements

18 years and under

  • Class D

    • You must be at least 18 years old.
  • Provisional Permit

    • You must be between the ages of 15 1/2 and 18.
  • Provisional Instruction Permit

    • You must be between the ages of 15 1/2 and 18.
  • Driver's ED

18 years and over

  • Class C

For complete Details and Restrictions SIGN IN HERE

California Drivers Ed

Visit our california drivers ed page for more information on California driver education.

Tests Required

  • Vision Exam

  • Traffic laws and Sign Test (could be waived if you have a license from another state)



Documents needed to get your California Drivers License

  • Identification (Primary Documents)

    • A few examples:
      • US Birth Certificate
      • Passport
      • US Military ID Card
      • For complete list of items SIGN IN HERE
  • Social Security 

  • Financial Responsibility

    • You must show that your car is properly insured.


California DMV Office

Go to your California DMV Office in order to take your required tests. You can use our locator to find the office that is closest to you.

Take the California Drivers License Test

At this point you need to make sure that you have prepared and studied all of the material for the written test. You can find the California Driver Test handbook here

Buy a Car and Get Auto Insurance

Auto insurance is required by law in most states. Click HERE to get started and we'll help you find the lowest rates in your state.

Take the Driving Test

Your last step is to show up to your local California DMV Office and take the driving test.